Recent Publications in All Genres

By Lauren Scharhag

The morning after we ended,

I sat in a café, and imagined us

having one of our conversations.

But you were not there, and I

will never come to where

you are.

Entire worlds split in two

with our rift. There will be

no more lavender dawns,

no more poppy fields.

The serpentine roads we trod

for so long abruptly ceased.

I sat down at the edge,

my feet in the green sea,

my head a starless night.

In the Tarot, the World card

represents completion,

a woman floating above a globe.

She is a departure, and I

am yours.

Lauren Scharhag is an award-winning writer of fiction and poetry. She is the author of Under Julia, The Ice Dragon, The Winter Prince, West Side Girl & Other Poems, and the co-author of The Order of the Four Sons series. Her poems and short stories have appeared in over seventy journals and anthologies, including Voice of Eve, Isacoustic, The American Journal of Poetry, and Gambling the Aisle. She lives on Florida’s Emerald Coast. To learn more about her work, visit:

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon