Recent Publications in All Genres

By Lauren Scharhag

God speaks in peculiar music:

the music of hammers on gold.

They perform, but they are not performers.

We are not an audience, but witnesses

to their act of adoration.

Garbed in light, arms out,

caught up in the divine embrace,

left foot stationary, an axis

around which they spin,

planets and moons,

tiny galaxies brimming over

with such ecstasy

that even He

could be sated on it.

Lauren Scharhag is an award-winning writer of fiction and poetry. She is the author of Under Julia, The Ice Dragon, The Winter Prince, West Side Girl & Other Poems, and the co-author of The Order of the Four Sons series. Her poems and short stories have appeared in over seventy journals and anthologies, including Voice of Eve, Isacoustic, The American Journal of Poetry, and Gambling the Aisle. She lives on Florida’s Emerald Coast. To learn more about her work, visit:

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon